The City of Greater Geelong has taken a major initiative with its decision to seek UNESCO designation of Geelong as a City of Design in the UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN).

May 23, 2017

Geelong has a significant history of creative endeavour and innovation – if the UNESCO application is successful it will see Geelong recognised as a city of cultural importance globally. Inclusion in the UCCN will provide new opportunities for creative industries and stimulate the transition of the Geelong economy into the future.

The UCCN was founded in 2004 with the mission “to strengthen cooperation with and among cities that have recognised creativity as a strategic factor of sustainable development as regards economic, social, cultural and environmental aspects”.  Building partnerships and sharing practices therefore is one of the key principles of the UCCN; member cities must commit to this principle.

The UCCN includes 116 member cities around the globe in seven categories: Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts, and Music. Each nation is limited to one city in each category. There are 21 Cities of Design. UNESCO has designated Creative City status to only three cities in Australia:
•   Adelaide (Music)
•   Melbourne (Literature)
•   Sydney (Film)

The are 22 UNESCO Cities of Design:
Bandung, Indonesia; Beijing, China; Berlin, Germany; Beunos Aires, Argentina; Bilbao, Spain; Curitiba, Brazil; Budapest, Hungary; Detroit, USA; Dundee, Scotland; Graz, Austria; Helsinki, Finland; Kaunas, Lithuania; Kobe, Japan; Montreal, Canada; Nagoya, Japan; Peubla, Mexico; Saint Etienne, France; Seoul, South Korea; Shanghai, China; Shengzen, China; Singapore, Singapore; Torino, Italy.